About Us

Sergakis_825x990The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) names professionals representing the various specialties in respiratory care, as recipients for their Specialty Practitioner of the Year award. We're proud to share that HRS professor and respiratory therapy division director, Georgianna Sergakis, PhD, RRT, AE-C, FAARC, has received the 2021 Specialty Practitioner of the Year award for her extensive record of leadership and commitment to advancing respiratory therapy education.

Dr. Sergakis has been very involved in the curriculum development and accreditation standards for Advanced Practice Programs in Respiratory Care. She was also highly involved in developing a Master of Respiratory Therapy (MRT) degree, leading to advanced practice respiratory therapy practice. The MRT received CoARC approval in December 2019, and the first cohort graduated in May 2021. In addition, she has served as the AARC Education Section Chair and is currently serving as the chair of the AARC Vision Grant and the editor for the Respiratory Care Education Annual. 

Learn more about Dr. Sergakis.